Our School Governors

School Governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education.  Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards. The role of the Governing Body is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school.  School Governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. The Governing body is made up of different types of governors including foundation, parent, staff , Local Authority and Co-Opted governors.  As a Catholic school, our foundation governors play a crucial role in preserving the Catholic ethos and Character of the school. For more information about becoming a foundation governor, click on the tab below.

Each individual Governor is a member of the Governing body, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual Governors may not act independently of the rest of the Governing body. Decisions are the joint responsibility of the Governing body.

For more information about the role of School Governors visit the website,



Our Governing Body

St.John's Catholic Infant School is a Voluntary Aided School in the trusteeship of the Diocese of Shrewsbury.

The Instrument of Government states that the school was founded by and is part of the Catholic Church. The school is to be conducted as a Catholic School in accordance with Canon Law and the teachings of the Catholic Church, and in accordance with the Trust Deed of the Diocese of Shrewsbury.

The governing body reconstituted in July 2015 and a new Instrument of Government came into effect on September 1st 2015.

The governing body consists of a total of 14 governors comprising:

  1. eight foundation governors

  2. two parent governors

  3. one headteacher

  4. one staff governor

  5. one local authority governor

  6. one co-opted governor

CHAIRPERSON:                                      Mrs Emily McArdle

VICE CHAIRPERSON:                           Mrs Danielle Campbell

FOUNDATION GOVERNORS:            Mrs Maria Ross, Mr Paul Grealis, Mr Mathew Alexander, Mrs Laura McGunigle,  Mrs Joanne Kaloumenos, Fr Bernard Forshaw

PARENT GOVERNORS:                        Mrs Patricia Guerra, Mr Jonathon Quinn

STAFF GOVERNOR:                               Mrs Emma Greer

HEADTEACHER GOVERNOR:             Mrs Mary Bulmer

CO-OPTED GOVERNOR:                      Mrs Bernadette Kirwan


Meet the Governors

To find out  more about each of our Governors, click on their names.


The main duties and responsibilities of the Governing Body are:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

  • holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff

  • overseeing the financial management of the school and ensuring value for money


The Governing Body delegates some of its responsibilities to three committees. Each committee meets once a term and reports to the full governors meeting on its work and any actions taken or recommendations to the governors.

Please click on the links below for further Governor information: